## Collegiate Dairy Products Evaluation Contest Awards and Recognitions

Joe Larson Merit Award The Joe Larson Merit Award, established in 1998, honors undergraduate students that best uphold the ideals of the Contest with \$500 and a plaque. The awards are not based on technical placement in the Contest, but reward individuals for other key attributes necessary for industry leadership. Joe Larson Merit Awards are made possible by a generous contribution from Joe Larson.

**Genevieve Christen Award** The first place winner in the <u>All Products graduate student</u> competition receives an award honoring the memory of Dr. Genevieve Christen. Dr. Christen was a devoted coach from the University of Tennessee and a strong supporter of the Contest. The winner receives \$250 and a plaque.

**Shirley Seas Award** This is awarded annually to the university that places <u>first in the All</u> <u>Products</u> category. This award is given in memory of Shirley W. Seas, who was a Professor of Dairy Science at South Dakota State University. Seas was actively involved in the dairy processing technology teaching program and management of the South Dakota State University dairy plant. Professor Seas was best known as an outstanding teacher and for his dedication as a Collegiate Contest coach. He coached 21 teams and was named as "Coach of the Year" five times. His teams placed first in Butter 17 of his 21 years as coach and also won the Contest seven times

**Dairy Recognition and Education Foundation** The Dairy Recognition and Education Foundation, (DREF) was founded to recognize outstanding students studying food and dairy science curricula. Qualified students majoring in dairy processing technology, agri-business or food science are granted scholarships through the Foundation. DREF has assisted more than 2,000 students since 1953. Special awards are presented annually by the DREF to the student participants who finish <u>first, second and third in the All Products</u> individual competitions of the Collegiate Dairy Products Evaluation Contest, and to the <u>coach of the winning All Products</u> <u>team.</u>

• The <u>first place All Products individual</u> winner receives the \$400 **Robert Rosenbaum Award**, in recognition of the person whose efforts were instrumental in forming DREF in 1953.

• The <u>second place All Products</u> individual winner receives the \$350 **Everett Byers Memorial Award**. The Byers Award was first bestowed in 1978, in memory of Everett Byers, who served for 12 years as a Contest judge in the Ice Cream and All Products categories. • The <u>third place All Products</u> individual winner receives a \$300 award, which was established with funds donated by **Harold Roberts**, Professor Emeritus and Coach, Kansas State University.

• <u>First place individual winners in each of the six product</u> categories receive a \$200 award, which was established by the **DREF** Board in 1993.

• The <u>coach of the winning All Products team</u> is recognized as coach of the year, presented with the **Aurelia and George Weigold Coach's Award**, and receives \$150. This award was created in 1982, with funding to DREF by Mr. and Mrs. George W. Weigold. The award recognizes the devotion, hard work and interest by the college coaches.

Special contributions have been made to DREF either honoring or in memory of the following individuals:

Neil Angevine Edward L. Koepenick I.E. "Bud" Fear Don Merlin Charles M. Fistere Edwin S. Moses E.W. Gaumnitz George & Aurelia Weigold Glenn Hoffman John Kinnett, Sr. June V. North Fred Uetz John T. Walsh Robert "Pinky" Holtgrieve

Arthur G. & Heppie M. Weigold Irv Horrocks A.C. Routh E. Fred Malatesta Mike Bender William Jordan Robert Everett Robert Grigsby Wilbur Gaunt Arthur & Wilma Weigold Alfred M. Ghormley Bea Prescott Howard Grant Joe Larson **Bert Aldrich Award** was established in 1989 for the <u>first place individual in the</u> <u>Butter competition</u>. This continuing award is made in memory of Bert Aldrich, who was lead Butter judge for many years and was dedicated to the education of future dairy leaders. The award consists of a \$200 cash award.

**Collegiate Dairy Products Evaluation Contest Awards** The CDPEC board of directors provides monetary awards to the <u>top 2 Graduate students for All</u> <u>Products</u> and the <u>high college team in All Products</u>. In addition the <u>second and</u> <u>third place individuals</u> in each of the <u>six product categories</u> receive cash awards.

**Quality Chek'd Conference** Quality Chek'd provides an all-expenses paid trip for the <u>Top 2 All Products individuals</u> and their coaches, to attend the Quality Chek'd Leadership Conference. Students have the opportunity to evaluate products alongside dairy product experts and participate in the conference activities. In addition, Quality Chek'D, provides a \$1,000 donation to each school.

**Chr. Hansen's US/World Cheese Competition** Chr. Hansen sponsors and pays the travel expenses for the <u>top cheddar cheese college student and coach</u> to attend the U.S. or World Cheese Competition. The top student will have the opportunity to evaluate cheese together with experts in the field.

**American Cheese Society** American Cheese Society provides a travel stipend to the <u>top All Products graduate student</u> to participate in the American Cheese Society cheese contest. The student will be evaluating cheese entered in the competition with cheese experts.

**Arthur Nesbitt** sponsors lifetime memberships in the National Dairy Shrine for the three top ranking individuals in All Products. National Dairy Shrine lifetime members include dairy product specialists, scientists, journalists, marketers, dairymen and students from all dairy-related fields. National Dairy Shrine recognizes today's dairy leaders; honors great dairy leaders of the past; inspires dairy leaders of the future; and records the history of the dairy industry. The National Dairy Shrine supports the Collegiate Dairy Products Evaluation Contest by serving as the administrator of contest funds.

**Collegiate Dairy Products Evaluation Contest Travel Stipends** The CDPEC Board of Directors provides monetary travel stipends to each of the schools competing in the Collegiate Dairy Products Evaluation Contest. Travel stipends are based on the number of miles from the contest site.